Easy guide to run Belzebub on Linux

Diablo 1 HD, codename Belzebub - General forum.
Post Reply
Dknight
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Jan, 2017 16:43

Easy guide to run Belzebub on Linux

Post by Dknight »

1. You need to install wine. Open terminal and run command

Ubuntu, Mint

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install wine
Fedora

Code: Select all

sudo dnf install wine
2. Download Belzebub mod and unzip it where ever you want, for example /home/YourName/Diablo1mod/

3. Copy diabdat.mpq from your original Diablo 1 to directory where you unzipped Belzebub (eg. /home/YourName/Diablo1mod/)

4. If you run Belzebub.exe you probably will get error: "Creative Video Stream Sound Object,, OpenAL invalid ID." To fix it download soft_oal.dll from here https://www.azdll.net/files/soft-oal-dll.html. Place it to your Belzebub's directory as example (eg. /home/YourName/Diablo1mod/)

5. Run it! It should work.

BONUS.
Belzebub will run on any windows version, but I would recommend to set Windows XP. My practice show Win XP cause much less random crashes than any other Windows' version.

To do this use command:

Code: Select all

winecfg
Tab: Applications -> Windows version -> Windows XP.

Have fun!
hldemi
Posts: 39
Joined: 23 Feb, 2017 14:03

Post by hldemi »

I approve of this. Especially for windows to run it in compatibility mode.
Dknight
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Jan, 2017 16:43

Post by Dknight »

UPDATE

Found one more thing, on some system there are still problems with sound in game. To fix it you need to download OpenAL soft from here https://www.openal.org/downloads/ select "OpenAL 1.1 Windows Installer (zip)"

Unzip it somewhere and install via WINE

Code: Select all

wine oalinst.exe
Press OK and you are done.

Hope this also helps people, who has problems with sound on GNU/Linux.[/code]
Dknight
Posts: 5
Joined: 07 Jan, 2017 16:43

Post by Dknight »

UPDATE

Also found an issue on older Wine versions. If you still have no sound in game go to wine config with command

Code: Select all

winecfg
Tab Libraries, from drop-down menu 'New override for library' choose openal32 and click add. Should be openal32 (native, builtin).
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests